WashU Nephrologists Patricia Kao and Vikas R. Dharnidharka Receive Dean’s Impact Awards

Congratulations to Patricia Kao, MD, MS, MHPE, Professor of Medicine, Division of Nephrology, and Vikas Dharnidharka, MD, MPH, Alexis F. Hartmann Sr., MD, Endowed Professor of Pediatrics, who are part of a select group of WashU faculty members to receive the 2024 Dean’s Impact Awards. Launched in 2023, the Dean’s Impact Awards honor individuals who […]

WashU Nephrology Presents at 2024 NKF Spring Clinical Meetings

Several members of WashU Nephrology will take part in the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) Spring Clinical Meetings (SCM), being held May 14 – 18, 2024, in Long Beach, CA.   The annual meeting serves as NKF’s premier educational event designed for the entire inter-professional kidney healthcare team.  Participants have the opportunity to explore cutting-edge innovations, […]

Dr. Safaa Hammoud Awarded AHA Postdoctoral Fellowship for Chronic Kidney Injury Research

Congratulations to Safaa Hammoud, PhD, a Postdoctoral Research Scholar in the laboratory of Leslie Gewin, MD, for receiving a 2024 American Heart Association (AHA) Postdoctoral Fellowship.  The award provides two years of funding for her project “Blocking Tubular Cell Cycle Induces Protective Metabolic Changes in Chronic Kidney Disease.”   After receiving her PhD in pharmacology […]

Nephrologist Morgan Schoer Receives Prestigious 2023 Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Award

WashU Nephrology is proud to congratulate Morgan Schoer, MD, one of six recipients of the 2023 Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Award presented by The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital.  The award recognizes Barnes-Jewish Hospital and WashU School of Medicine internal medicine residents and fellows who embody the “Knowlton Spirit” of compassionate care and leadership in the […]

National Kidney Foundation Honors Lisa Koester-Wiedemann with Prestigious Carol Mattix Award

WashU Nephrology nurse practitioner Lisa Koester-Wiedemann, ANP, CS, CNN-NP, MSN, is the recipient of the 2024 Carol Mattix Award from the National Kidney Foundation (NKF). The annual award, established in 2019 by NKF’s Council of Nephrology Nurses and Technicians, honors nurses who dedicate their careers to improving patients’ lives, not just their health.   The award […]

Nephrologist Tingting Li Receives 2023 Nathan Hellman Memorial Teaching Award

WashU Nephrology is proud to announce Professor of Medicine Tingting Li, MD, MSCI, as the recipient of the 2023 Nathan Hellman Memorial Teacher of the Year Award. The annual award is given to a faculty member selected by our Division’s fellows.  The recipient receives an inscribed plaque and a cash award to support professional development. The teaching award […]

Dr. Anitha Vijayan Receives 2023 Dean’s Impact Award Honoring Extraordinary Work During COVID-19 Pandemic

WashU Nephrology is proud to congratulate Anitha Vijayan, MD, Professor of Medicine, who is part of a select group of faculty members receiving the inaugural 2023 Dean’s Impact Awards, which recognize their exceptional character, resourcefulness, and creativity that helped guide the University through the COVID-19 pandemic. The awards will be presented to 48 individuals from […]

Will Ross to Receive Frankie Freeman Inspirational Award

WashU Nephrology congratulates Will Ross, MD, MPH, Alumni Endowed Professor of Medicine, Nephrology, and Associate Dean for Diversity at Washington University School of Medicine, who will receive the Frankie Freeman Inspirational Award at the Ethical Society of St. Louis this Friday, February 17, 2023.  The event is sponsored by the St. Louis County Library (SLCL), […]

Frank O’Brien Receives LeJIT Teaching Award 

Frank O’Brien, MD, FASN, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Nephrology, is the recipient of the LeJIT Teaching Award for his outstanding performance during the 2022 Block 6 Medicine Clerkship (November – December 2022).  The LeJIT award is given for completing “just-in-time” assessments (“JITs”) and providing meaningful, timely feedback to students, which helps them develop […]

Dr. Monica Chang-Panesso Receives 2023 SSCI Research Scholar Award

WashU Nephrology congratulates Monica Chang-Panesso, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine, on receiving the 2023 Southern Society for Clinical Investigation (SSCI) Research Scholar Award for her proposal titled “Tubular Senescence and Proliferative Capacity of the Aging Kidney.” The SSCI Research Scholar Award is given to developing physician-scientist as they undertake innovative research projects related to internal […]