Humphreys and Division Awarded BJH Grant to Reduce ESRD Patient Readmissions

The Division of Nephrology and Benjamin Humphreys, MD, PhD, Joseph P. Friedman Associate Professor and Chief, has been awarded a two-year grant from the Barnes Jewish Hospital (BJH) Foundation for a proposal to reduce 30-day hospital readmissions for ESRD patients. The grant was developed in close collaboration with Division of Nephrology Faculty members and Jodean […]

CJASN Podcast Hosts Dr. Tingting Li and Co-authors to Discuss Monocyte Count and CKD Publication

Associate Professor of Medicine Tingting Li, Division of Nephrology at WU, and colleagues from the Clinical Epidemiology Center at the VA Saint Louis Health Care System participated in the recently launched CJASN Podcast to discuss their publication Association between Monocyte Count and Risk of Incident CKD and Progression to ESRD. Dr. Li, first author and […]

They Call Her “Ms. Tee”

Congratulations to Teana Allen, Secretary II in the Chromalloy Kidney Center, who recently graduated from Ashford University with a Master of Arts in Organizational Management with a specialization in Business Leadership. Teana attributes part of her academic drive to her grandmother. “Before my grandmother passed, she always told me, no matter what, she wanted me […]

James A. Delmez Retires

When it was pointed out to retiring James (Jay) Delmez, MD, Professor of Medicine, that he had been here for 39 years, he countered by saying it was much longer than that. “I was born here,” he said. In his paced, quiet manner of speaking, Jay told the story of how his parents came to […]

Connie Mayo, Star Performer!

Connie Mayo is Someone who Took an Active Role. A real STAR. Connie, a Clinical Nurse Coordinator in the Division of Nephrology, was chosen as the December Star Performer, an employee who personifies professionalism and teamwork, and who consistently makes a difference in the lives of those around her. James P. Crane, MD, Associate Vice […]

Slatopolsky to receive NKF Award of Excellence

The National Kidney Foundation is honoring  Eduardo Slatopolsky, MD, Professor Emeritus, Division of Nephrology, with the 2016 Award of Excellence at their 30th Annual NKF Gala, to be held November 12 at the Hilton Saint Louis at the Ballpark. Dr. Slatopolsky’s contributions to the understanding of the pathophysiology of secondary hyperparathyroidism, hyperphosphatemia and vitamin D […]