Benjamin Humphreys Joins Board of NIDDK Scientific Counselors

Benjamin Humphreys, MD, PhD, Joseph Friedman Professor of Renal Diseases in Medicine and Chief, Division of Nephrology, has been invited to join the NIDDK Board of Scientific Counselors (BSC).  Made up of accomplished senior researchers from NIDDK-funded universities and institutions, the BSC review panel evaluates independently resourced scientists in the NIDDK Intramural Research Program (IRP). […]

WashU Nephrologists Tingting Li and Anitha Vijayan to Serve on ASN Committees

Washington University Division of Nephrology faculty members Tingting Li, MD, MSCI, Associate Professor of Medicine, and Anitha Vijayan, MD, FASN, Professor of Medicine, have been chosen to serve on multiple American Society of Nephrology (ASN) committees. Dr. Li is serving on the Publications Committee through 2022. The committee oversees current and future ASN publishing enterprises, […]

Aubrey Morrison, Professor Emeritus – Nephrology, Awarded BJH Lifetime Achievement Award

Aubrey Morrison, MBBS, MACP, FASN, Professor Emeritus, Division of Nephrology, is the recipient of the 2020 Barnes-Jewish Hospital medical staff association Lifetime Achievement Award. Only physicians who have contributed 25 years or more of distinguished service to BJH are considered for the award.  Morrison retired from the Division of Nephrology in October 2020, having been […]

Manasa Metireddy, MD, Receives Grant from The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital to Study Transitional Care for Dialysis Patients

Congratulations to Manasa Metireddy, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Nephrology, who is the recipient of a Project Award from The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital.  Dr. Metireddy received the three-year, $419,377 award to study transitional care for dialysis patients.  Patients with end stage kidney disease (ESKD) face challenges in the early months of initiating […]

Renal Fellows Get Opportunity to Discuss COVID-19 Experiences

In a recent webinar sponsored by the American Society of Nephrology (@ASNKidney), a panel of renal fellows from across the US and Canada discussed the mental and emotional burden of the COVID-19 pandemic, concerns about patient care, and the different divisional/institutional approaches to managing the pandemic, including distribution of the COVID-19 vaccines. The ultimate purpose […]

Postdoc Eryn Dixon Accepted into AJP-Renal Early Career Reviewer Program

The Division of Nephrology congratulates Eryn Dixon, PhD, a postdoctoral research scholar in the laboratory of Dr. Benjamin Humphreys, on her acceptance into the American Journal of Physiology-Renal Physiology Early Career Reviewer Program. Dixon will work one-on-one with an associate editor for the next year, assisting in the evaluation and review of manuscripts as she […]

Drs. Jeannine Basta and Brian Wong Awarded Center of Regenerative Medicine Kidney Disease Early Investigator Seed Grants

Jeannine Basta, PhD, Assistant Professor of Research in the Division of Nephrology, and Brian Wong, PhD, Assistant Professor in the Department of Surgery, are recipients of the inaugural seed grants awarded through the partnership of the Division of Nephrology and the Center of Regenerative Medicine (CRM) at Washington University in St. Louis. The grants are […]

Shayna Bradford, PhD, Selected for ASN Public Policy Internship Program

Congratulations to Shayna Bradford, PhD, a Washington University nephrology postdoctoral research scholar, who was selected for the ASN Policy and Advocacy Internship Program. The Policy and Advocacy Committee helps shape public policy for nephrology patients and health professionals. Interns are chosen for their interest in – and commitment to – policy writing, analysis, and engagement. […]

Ying Maggie Chen to Serve on ASN Grants Review Committee

Dr. Ying Maggie Chen

The American Society of Nephrology and KidneyCure (ASN Foundation) have invited Ying Maggie Chen, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology, Washington University, to serve on their ASN Grants Review Committee.   Established in 2012, KidneyCure currently provides over $3 million per year to nephrology fellows and new investigators to help […]