Anitha Vijayan and Aubrey Morrison Honored at BJH Medical Staff Association Ceremony

Drs. Aubrey Morrison and Anitha Vijayan with respective awards

Division of Nephrology’s Anitha Vijayan, MD, FASN, Professor of Medicine, and Aubrey Morrison, MBBS, MACP, FASN, Emeritus Professor of Medicine, were among four Barnes Jewish Hospital/Washington University physicians honored by the BJH Medical Staff Association at their semi-annual general meeting held Thursday, November 15, 2021, at EPNEC.  The gathering was the first Medical Staff Association […]

Dr. Kelli King-Morris Inducted into WashU Academy of Educators

Congratulations to Kelli King-Morris, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology, who was one of the 2021 inductees into Washington University’s Academy of Educators. The Academy of Educators fosters a culture of excellence in education across all WashU Medical Campus departments and programs.  Members of the academy work together to help other […]

Dr. Anuja Java Co-chairs Working Group in an International Committee for Revising aHUS Nomenclature

The National Kidney Foundation (NKF) has convened a multidisciplinary group of experts to reevaluate the current classification of atypical hemolytic uremic syndrome (aHUS) and propose a roadmap to prepare the field for revising the nomenclature.  Drs. Carla Nester and Marina Vivarelli, leaders of the initiative, invited Anuja Java, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Washington University […]

WashU Physician-Scientists Andrew Malone and Parker Wilson Chosen as JASN Editorial Fellows

Two Washington University School of Medicine physician-scientists have been chosen to join the JASN Editorial Fellows mentorship program for 2021-2023. Andrew Malone, MBBCh, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Nephrology, and Parker Wilson, MD, PhD, Instructor, Pathology & Immunology, will join nine other fellows in the program, which will introduce them to editorial processes involved in publishing […]

WashU Nephrology Nurse Practitioner Lisa Koester-Wiedemann Receives Dean’s Distinguished Service Award

The Division of Nephrology is proud to announce that Lisa Koester-Wiedemann, ANP, CNN-NP, received the prestigious Dean’s Distinguished Service Award for 2020.  The award is the highest form of staff recognition at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. Recipients of the award are nominated by their colleagues and are selected for “displaying ongoing […]

Nephrologists Timothy Yau and Steven Cheng Receive Teaching Awards

The Division of Nephrology congratulates Timothy Yau, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine, the recipient of a Teacher of the Year Award, as voted on by the 2021 graduating class of WashU medical students.  The class selected two Teachers of the Year, one for their pre-clinical training in their first two years and one for their […]

Dr. Vikas Dharnidharka Inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

Congratulations to Vikas Dharnidharka, MD, MPH, director of Pediatric Nephrology, Hypertension and Pheresis at Washington University School of Medicine, who was elected as a faculty member to the 2021 Alpha Omega Alpha (AΩA) Honor Medical Society. AΩA, the only national medical honor society, was organized in 1902 to promote excellence in academic scholarship, honor leadership, […]

Dr. Jeffrey Miner Awarded Alport Syndrome Foundation Grant

WashU Nephrology congratulates Jeffrey Miner, PhD, FASN, who was awarded $132,000 from the Alport Syndrome Foundation (ASF).  Miner, recently named Eduardo and Judith Slatopolsky Professor of Medicine in Nephrology, will use the grant to perform proof-of-concept gene therapy studies in a mouse model of Alport syndrome.  ASF is strategically investing in research that uses new […]

Andrew Malone, ASCI Young Physician-Scientist, Receives Early Career Development Award

The Division of Nephrology congratulates Assistant Professor of Medicine Andrew Malone, MBBCh, a recipient of a 2021 Early Career Development Award (ECDA) from the Central Society for Clinical and Translational Research (CSCTR), one of the oldest academic medical societies in the Midwest. The $10,000 grant is awarded to outstanding new investigators to supplement any combination […]

Nephrologist Will Ross Honored as Alumni Endowed Professor of Medicine

Congratulates to Will Ross, MD, MPH, Professor of Medicine, Division of Nephrology, and Associate Dean for Diversity for Washington University School of Medicine, who was recently named Alumni Endowed Professor of Medicine.  Dr. Ross was honored for an excellence in patient care, teaching, research and commitment to health equity.  The Alumni Endowed Professor of Medicine […]