Drs. Yau, Cheng, Goldberg, Kao and Ross to be Honored at Distinguished Service Teaching Award Ceremony

Congratulations to the five faculty members of the Division of Nephrology who will be recognized at the Distinguished Service Teaching Awards Ceremony on Thursday, November 15, 2018, 5 pm at the Eric P. Newman Education Center.

The Distinguished Service Teaching Awards are given yearly in appreciation of exemplary service in medical student education. WU medical school students finishing their first, second, and third years of study nominate and vote for course masters, lecturers, clerkship directors, attendings, and residents who by their “efforts, dedication and patience” have had a significant impact on the students’ education. The event is implemented with support from the Office of Medical Student Education.

Recipients of the teaching awards for Internal Medicine – Nephrology (2017-2018) are:

First Year Awards, Class of 2021:

Distinguished Service Teaching Award – Timothy Yau, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine





Second Year Awards, Class of 2020:

Course Director of the Year – Steven Cheng, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine





Seth-Goldberg-MDDistinguished Service Teaching Award – Seth Goldberg, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine





Distinguished Service Teaching Award – Patricia Kao, MD, MS, Associate Professor





Distinguished Service Teaching Award – Timothy Yau, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine






Will Ross
Office of Diversity

Also to be honored at the award ceremony is Will Ross, MD, MHP, Professor of Medicine and Associate Dean for Diversity. Dr. Ross was chosen as the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award nominee for academic year 2018-2019. The Humanism in Medicine award is presented by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). Each medical school nominates one faculty member, and a national winner is named each year during the annual AAMC conference. The award recognizes medical school faculty physicians who is a “caring and compassionate mentor” in the teaching and advising of medical students. The nominee is chosen by first- through fourth-year WU medical students; the process is conducted and supervised by the Organization of Student Representatives (OSR) in each medical school. Dr. Ross was honored with the Humanism in Medicine nomination in 2001 and again in 2010.

“It is always a privilege to be able to contribute to the education of our next generation of physicians,” says Dr. Goldberg.  “The faculty of the Division of Nephrology strive to lay the foundation for a career in medical inquisitiveness and problem-solving.”

Again, congratulations to our award recipients – all true representatives of our division’s dedication to teaching.