Tim Yau Receives ASN Innovation in Kidney Education Award for His Renal Pathology Web Series

Congratulations to faculty member dsc_5821Timothy Yau, MD, who has just been awarded the 2016 ASN Innovation in Kidney Education Award for his Washington University in St. Louis Nephrology Web Video Series.

The competition, launched in 2015, encourages development of innovative approaches to teach medical students, residents and fellows about kidney health and disease. Applicants are judged on the effectiveness, appeal, interest and engagement of their teaching tools.  The winners of this year’s award are as follows:

  • Renal Pathology Web Episodes; Timothy Yau, MD, Washington University School of Medicine;
  • OPENPediatrics Hemodialysis Simulator; Deborah R. Stein, MD; Annalise Littman, BS; Mignon McCulloch, MD; Daniel Hames, MD; Aleksandra E. Olszewski, MD; Sharon W. Su, MD; Traci A. Wolbrink, MD, MPH;
  • Hyponatremia Illustrated Interactive Powerpoint; Tamim Hamdi, MD; Kamalanatham Sambandam, MD; UT Southwestern;

Dr. Yau, creator and moderator of the Renal Pathology Series, says, “I’m honored to receive this award from the ASN.  It is great to be recognized for doing something that I enjoy, and I look forward to producing each new episode!”  The series has already accumulated more than 15,000 views in just under nine months since its debut on YouTube.

Short videos describing the education innovations will be shown during the Kidney Week plenary session on Saturday, November 19 (8:00–9:30 a.m.; W375C-E).